A Family Hymnal

About a month or so ago I asked some friends to submit their favorite hymns to me.  I asked them to do this so I could compile a list of hymns to chose from for the hymnal I was making.  I wanted to make a “greatest hits” hymnal where all of the goodies where compiled into one book.  Below you will see the hymns that made the list.  This hymnal is by no means closed to more suggestions, so if you don’t see one of your favorites listed send me an email and it just might make the cut.

  1. A Mighty Fortress Is Our God
  2. Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed
  3. All Creature Of Our God And King
  4. All Hail The Power Of Jesus’ Name
  5. Amazing Grace
  6. And Can It Be
  7. Before The Throne Of God Above
  8. Blessed Assurance
  9. Be Thou My Vision
  10. Christ The Lord Is Risen Today
  11. Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing
  12. Come Thou Long Expected Jesus
  13. Come Ye Sinners Poor And Needy
  14. Doxology
  15. God Moves In Mysterious Ways
  16. He Leadeth Me
  17. Help My Unbelief
  18. Holy, Holy, Holy
  19. How Deep The Father’s Love For Us
  20. How Great Thou Art
  21. In Christ Alone
  22. I Need Thee Every Hour
  23. I Stand Amazed In The Presence
  24. It Is Well With My Soul
  25. Jesus Paid It All
  26. Man of Sorrows
  27. My Hope Is Built
  28. My Jesus I Love Thee
  29. My Lord, I Did Not Choose You
  30. Not All The Blood of Beasts
  31. Nothing But the Blood
  32. Not What My Hands Have Done
  33. O For A Thousand Tongues To Sing
  34. O Sacred Head, Now Wounded
  35. O Worship The King
  36. Praise To The Lord, The Almighty
  37. Power In The Blood
  38. Rock Of Ages
  39. The Church’s One Foundation
  40. The Deep Deep Love Of Jesus
  41. The Power Of The Cross
  42. There Is A Fountain Filled With Blood
  43. Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus
  44. When I Survey the Wondrous Cross
    • Chase
    • January 4th, 2010

    All my suggestions made it except “Jesus, Savior, Pilot Me.”

    I really like Laura Gibson’s version from the Bifrost Arts compilation.

  1. Any I would have suggested are there. What a great collection of hymns. What a fantastic idea as well. Well done, sir, well done.

  2. Keli-
    Thanks for the comments.

    Chase-
    I also like what I could hear of her version of the song. Thanks for all of the suggestions.

  3. Red Mountain Music’s “The Sweet Well of Bethlehem” is a favorite of mine. You can download it for free here: http://www.redmountainchurch.org/rmm/b-sides/b-sides.html

    • keith
    • February 27th, 2010

    A Christian Home

    talks about family

  4. Keith-
    Are these the name of some hymns?

    • Stephen Moon
    • March 4th, 2010

    A good call out for including Be Thou My Vision, hey I know it is kind of late but a favorite my mother and me is Shine Jesus Shine

    • Stephen-
      Thanks for the added hymn. Hope things are well with you.

  1. February 26th, 2010
    Trackback from : I Want Your Hymnal Input «

Leave a Reply

