Top Books of ’09

As most of you know, I really like books.  A lot.  I basically have more books than I will probably ever read through but that does not matter.  I keep buying them and I keep getting really excited every time I open the door to receive a new package of books.  As I have said before, having a deep theological library stocked full of books is a gift that is priceless to your future generations.

I am interested to know: What was/were the top book(s) of 2009 for you?  Below you will find my list.
1.  Why We Love the Church: In Praise of Institutions and Organized Religion (Deyoung and Kluck)
2.  Doctrine of Repentance (Thomas Watson)
3.  The Sovereignty of God (A.W. Pink)
4.  The Expository Genius of John Calvin (Steven Lawson)
5.  The Holiness of God (R.C. Sproul)
6.  No Holiness, No Heaven (Richard Alderson)

Go ahead and weigh in with your list.

* Also, keep your eyes peeled for a special contest coming your way.  This is the 300th post for Doxologia, and I couldn’t think of a better subject to write on than books, and I couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate than by giving away a book.  Stay tuned.

  1. Drew-
    Very nice list sir! I am quite sure there are many more. I have wanted to read #4. What did you think about it? Good, bad? Very academic, easy read? Also I am going to read #6 as well. I have heard it is a good book dealing with the topic.

    Good to hear from you brother, as always.

    • Drew Mitchell
    • December 31st, 2009

    There is a tie for the number one spot…
    1. This Momentary Marriage (John Piper)
    1.Eternal God (Paul Helm)
    3. The Prodigal God (Tim Keller)
    4.The Reformed Doctrine of Predestination (Loraine Boettner)
    5. A Case For Amillenialism (Kim Riddlebarger)
    6. Baptism-Three Views (ed. David Wright, Contributions by Sinclair Ferguson, Tony Lane, and Bruce Ware)
    7. An Old Testament Theology (Bruce Waltke)
    8. Thales to Dewey (Gordon H. Clark)
    9. Christian Apologetics (Cornelius Van Til)
    10. Various essays, etc. by Jonathan Edwards
    11. “” John Calvin
    12.”” Martin Luther
    13.”” Augustine
    14.The Brothers Karamazov (Fyodor Dostoevsky)
    15. So many more….

  1. December 31st, 2009

Leave a Reply

