106 Books

“At least Kyle has read most of them. I’m such a poser.”  

I am afraid Mr. Kyle Bass has one up on me also.  I too am a poser when it comes to books on my bookshelf.  I do honestly try to read through the books I have purchased, alas the rate of incoming books far exceeds the rate of books being read.  Oh, well.  I look at it as a way to build a killer theological library for my children.  

On to the book list.  I will edit the list a bit to make this post a more easily digestible in a short amount of time by showing the two books that I have read out of the 106 listed here and here.

The winners are:
Tess of the D’Urbervilles (I read this when I was a Junior in High School because the girl I was dating was into this book)
and
The Hobbit (which I own and have read.  This jump started my liking of all things Shire).

I will again break mold by recommending this book to anyone who cares:

The Expository Genius of John Calvin

This is a great book.  It is a small quick read, and it is an incredibly insightful into the power of expository preaching as brought forth my the great reformer, John Calvin.  Regardless of what you think about John Calvin, read this book and catch the fervor this man had for preaching the Bible verse by verse.  Calvin banked his entire pulpit ministry upon the sufficiency of scripture, and this book goes into great detail to explain how he approached preaching from Sunday to Sunday.

  1. Well, I still haven’t read too many out of the 106, and most were school-related. There are a number on my own shelf waiting to be read though. One of these days…

    • Stephen Moon
    • December 16th, 2008

    Put me down for having read
    Wuthering Heights-class
    Tess of D (I even have the cliff notes version) class
    The Odyssey-class
    Great expectations- class
    A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius -own (funny funny prose)
    Cryptonomicon= I gave this one a serious go but too many characters, with no thought of where it is going about died of boredom
    The Catcher in the Rye – class curse words out of the wazoo

    Heres one that I thought was missing the complete canon of Sherlock Holmes. I have read all 56 short stories. Every so often I will chew on one of the four novels

    The ones on my “to do” list
    The Name of the Rose – want to read because I loved the movie version with Sean Connery could have done without the xxx scene
    The Once and Future King-when I get the time because I love the King Author legend
    The Mist of Avalon for the same reason

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

