A Book for Me, and a Book for You

It’s no lie. I love getting new books. Today I received in the mail my latest purchase. Now, I am notorious for not reading them all the way through. So, when my wife sees me ordering new books it usually garners an “Oh, you are ordering more books” glance from my wife.

But, I look at it like this. I am building what I hope will day be a grand library. One that will feed me the truths of God from other men and women who have tasted and seen that the Lord is good. I also want this library to be a gold mine of God for my children. A doctrinally sound, God exalting library is one of the better gifts I can give to my children when I am gone. So, I continue to hunt for the deep hidden treasures of God manifesting themselves in ink on paper.

Here are two more books that have been added to the Davis Theological Library.

One for me:
Pierced For Our Transgressions: Rediscovering the Glory of Penal Substitution

Follow the link and you can get the book for 40% off the original price. I have been looking forward to the release of this book for a while now. It was released in the UK a couple months back. Now available in the US I highly recommend this addition to your library.

and one for Bekah and Jonathan:
The Jesus Storybook Bible: Every Story Whispers His Name

You can follow this link and get the book at 50% percent off the original price. This children’s Bible is written by Sally Lloyd-Jones who attends Redeemer Presbyterian Church. I have been hearing a lot of good things about this book. You know this is not your ordinary children’s Bible when you are a couple of pages in and find this hymn by Josiah Conder, a quote by G.K. Chesterton, and (hello) Bible stories from the O.T. and N.T. that are purposeful in pointing to our prophet, priest, and king, Jesus. Oh, and the illustrations are incredible.

So when I found it online for half off, I got it for Bekah right away. Also with Baby Jonathan coming along shortly I am sure this will be a book that will be read to him and our other children for years to come, Lord willing. A must for anyone who is or wants to be a parent.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

