Hymns of the Faith

Before Thee, God, Who Knowest All

Before Thee, God, who knowest all,
With grief and shame I prostrate fall,
I see my sins against Thee, Lord,

The sins of thought, of deed, and word.
They press me sore; I cry to Thee:
O God, be merciful to me!

O Lord, my God, to Thee I pray:
O cast me not in wrath away!
Let Thy good Spirit ne’er depart,
But let Him draw to Thee my heart
That truly penitent I be:
O God, be merciful to me!

O Jesus, let Thy precious blood
Be to my soul a cleansing flood.
Turn not, O Lord, Thy guest away,
But grant that justified I may
Go to my house at peace with Thee:
O God, be merciful to me!

Music by: Johann Sebastian Bach
Born: March 21, 1685, Eis­en­ach, Ger­ma­ny.
Died: Ju­ly 28, 1750, Leip­zig, Ger­ma­ny.
Buried: Or­ig­in­al­ly, Bach was bur­ied in the cem­e­te­ry at St. John’s Church in Leip­zig; in 1900, his re­mains were moved to a crypt in­side the church. The church was de­stroyed in World War II, so in 1949, he was re-in­terred in Leip­zig’s St. Thom­as Church.

There are more recordings of Bach’s music than that of any other composer. One count found over 1000 different albums.

Neither Bach nor his contemporaries had any idea that his music would grace the ages. He wrote for his time. Indeed he was obscure for a century after his death until he was rediscovered by Felix Mendelssohn. Thus many of his compositions were lost – no one knows how many. But on those that do survive there is the interesting insertion in Bach’s own hand of the letters J.J. at the beginning of each and S.D.G. at the end. They are abbreviations for the Latin, Jesu Juva (Jesus Help Me!) and Soli Deo Gloria ( To the Glory of God Alone!).

Information found at Christian History Institute.

    • DAVE SIPE
    • September 30th, 2007

    HEY JONATHAN ,
    I LOVE THE OLD HYMNS AND SING THEM TOO. ON BLUE LETTER BIBLE SITE YOU CAN FIND HYMNS ON ABOUT ANY VERSE IN THE BIBLE. YOU CAN HEAR THE CHORDED MELODY AND READ OR SING THE WORDS. INTENSE WORSHIP FOR ME. JUST WANTED TO SAY HI, I THINK OF YOUR OLD GROUP OFTEN. DAVE

  1. Wow! Dave Sipe has visited my blog. You have bestowed quite the honor by visiting my meager site.

    Glad to know there is a fellow hymn lover out there. I haven’t always been a lover of hymns but God has really turned my heart around on that one by showing me the great doctrinal truths that abound in the hymns of old.

    I love writing on/finding old hymns. This gives me an outlet on combining my love for history and the christian faith.

    Good hearing from the Sipe family.

  2. Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the internet
    the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about
    worries that they plainly do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side
    effect , people could take a signal. Will likely be
    back to get more. Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

