Missions in Metropolis

I had an incredible run-in the other day at work. I was tasked to go to the Massac County High School in Metropolis, Illinois. Yes, the home of the original Superman. While I was down at the high school taking some pictures of the building for work, I ran into some workers that were working in the Southern Illinois region for World Changers. They were doing missions work of various kinds in Metropolis, Brookport, and Vienna. So, I thought I would take a couple of pictures of them in action. The main people I talked to were part of the SBC Disaster Relief Team. This team is stationed out of Benton, and the people running this laundry/shower were from a church in Royalton, IL.

Unbeknownst to me, I had struck a rare find. The laundry/shower is a one and only in the state of Illinois. This team had been tasked out to Metropolis to help the World Changers participants with showers. The story behind the laundry/shower, as told by Jerry McDowell, is that he purchased the trailer with the basic framing and then had donations from all kinds of sources from many different states. With the received donations the trailer was transformed into what you see in the pictures.

According to Margaret McDowell and Karen Wigart the laundry/shower was in incredible help to the World Changers staff. It is amazing what someone can do with their availability to God, their God-given talent, and some God-given vision. Praise to God our Savior for men and women who serve in the smallest and largest of ways to spread the Gospel of Jesus.

Trailer Side View
L-R Margaret McDowell, Jerry McDowell, Karen Wigart

    • robyn
    • July 12th, 2007

    Oh my goodness! I was there at that World Changers!!! It was DEFINITELY the best WC trip I’ve ever been on. It was AMAZING!!! The disaster relief team was great!! I’m glad you got to meet them.

    • Katie
    • July 12th, 2007

    I was there at World Changers! It was AWESOME! It was the best World Changers trip I have ever been on. The people there were so great. The Disaster Relief team was so nice!! I’m glad you got those pictures!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

